1600 Veloce For Sale Soon -RM Auctions in Monaco

Coming up for auction May 10th  at Monaco through RM auctions is a Giulia Spider Veloce 390417 with matching engine 00121.01950. The car is rough but appears to be mostly  complete. Go to the website via the link to see more photos of the car.

390417an 390417ar

Here is your chance to get a rare car at a decent price. I am going to be interested in this auction because I want to see where the value of these cars is headed. Not many come up for sale, so this could be a good test of the market even for a car that is not in pristine restored condition.

If you look at my website for 1600 Veloce’s, you will see that there are only about 200 cars that are documented in some manner, add in another 100 or so that I haven’t been able to document of the original 1091 cars that were built, you can see that there are not many around. Rust in the floor boards and rocker panels got to most of these cars over the years. These are easy restorations as you can get everything to restore the car.

The 1600 Veloce sports twin Weber 40DCOE2 carburetors, 9.3 mm cams, 9.7:1 compression, forged rods and crankshaft, with a butterfly pan, and sand molded headers gives you 129 hp and a top speed of 112 mph (I know because I tried it several times and it was all I could get out of her). Matching that, are large two shoe drum brakes in the rear and Girling brakes in the front. Car has a 5 speed synchro gear box (lighten the gears for better shifting) and a 4.56 rear axle. Car gets 27 mpg if jetted correctly from a 15 gallon gas tank.

So who is in on this one?

 

About alfadoc

I have been involved in Alfa Romeo cars since 1970 when I bought my 1600 Veloce spider. It was in 1972 that I started the Veloce Register for 1600 cars. It was in 1998 that I added the Sprint Veloce, 750 Spider Veloce and Sprint Speciale registers. Currently I own 4 Alfas: 1600 Spider Veloce, 67 Super, 71 GTv and a 94 164Quadrifoglio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

